Skip to content

Soccer is to cake…

April 11, 2011

Thank you Facebook Fan Brian for suggesting the second challenge.  SOCCER!

This challenge had me stumped for a bit…but just as trying to recall that thought that is just out of reach, it  WILL come to you!

Let’s start with the definition:  soccer – noun – a form of football played between two teams of 11 players, in which the ball may be advanced by kicking or bouncing it off any part of the body but the arms and hands, except in the case of the goalkeepers, who may use their hands to catch, carry, throw, or stop the ball.

The first train of thought was making a connection using the association to a soccer hooligan.  I looked up the definition and nearly spit out my morning coffee:

From Urban Dictionary (not exactly Merriam-Webter, but funny and borderline educational!): soccer hooligan: an Englishman or Scot who likes to attend football (soccer) games p$%^& (aka drunk) out of his skull, start fights, and vandalize property; unhappy unless someone leaves the game in an ambulance.

I realize this definition is probably not the OFFICIAL one but it certainly is entertaining…alas…I was unable to find any funny videos of crazed fans having cake fights so I had to switch gears…

On a professional level, soccer is much more popular in other countries than here in the US.  Not all US cities have Major League Soccer Teams…and for the purpose of this connection I am going to single out one market…the San Jose Earthquakes.  Landon Donovan is one very notable player to be associated with this team as he was loaned to them by the German club Bayer Leverkusen in 2001 where Donovan lead them to MLS Cup Champtionships in both 2001 and 2003.

SPEAKING of San Jose…there is a catchy little jingle called ‘Do you know the way to San Jose’ by Dionne Warwick.  This song haunted me for a brief period of my life.  I heard it EVERYWHERE…classical instrumental versions while shopping somewhere, in movies, random background music while on hold…so much so that a dear friend bought me a ‘San Jose’ shot class on a visit there with a hand made pop of with the words ‘do you know the way’…ha!

One such movie appearance is…this song was mentioned during a comical scene in the 1997 move ‘My Best Friends Wedding’ with Julia Roberts, Cameron Diaz, Dermont Mulroney and Rupert Everett.   The title sequence of the song is sung during a discussion the characters are having about Dionne Warwick ” Do you know the way to San Jose, LA LA LA , and then Rubert Everett continues with another Dionne song…’I Say a Little Prayer For You’…The moment I wake up….before  put on my makeup….

ANYWAY…In the movie, Cameron and Dermont get married…and well…weddings have CAKE.

No comments yet

Leave a comment